Marching Onwards

A while ago, back before I forgot I had a blog and kind of just left it floating about in the wind like an avid flasher’s Johnson, I wrote monthly round-ups of what I’ve been up to.

Well, now I want to start that up again to (unashamedly) let all my old followers and new fans know I’m here!

Reading…

I attend two book clubs a month so I’m getting through books like they’re chocolate bars at Easter. Only I’m not eating the books because that would be…papery.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Humans by Matt Haig
Room by Emma Donoghue (read the full review here!); and
Scalped: Vol 2, a graphic novel by Jason Aaron.

I’ve also just about finished Preacher: Vol 3, Proud Americans, another graphic novel, by Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon.

IMAG1248

That dog-eared copy of The Handmaid’s Tale is older than me!

Books I’ve bought this month…

I’ve gone a bit mental and bought a whole shop’s worth. I’ve bought:

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter (Asda, 2 for £7)
The Revenant by Michael Punke (Asda, 2 for £7)

Cades Cove: The Curse of Allie Mae by Aiden James
The Gift by Alison Croggon (both free through bookbub.com)

Dark Visions by Steven King, George R. R. Martin, and Dan Simmons
The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota (for my bookclub)
Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy (all from Amazon UK)

I’ve only got three physical books as Blood Meridian hasn’t arrived yet (good ol’ US shipping), and the rest are ebooks.

 IMAG1252
Watching…
TV

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 7, Angel Season 4 – got to love old school vampire-teenage stuff.

Daredevil Season 2 – binged-watched in a few days. Now sad to wait another year 😦

Pretty Little Liars Season 5 – Who is A? Is it you-know-who? I saw a spoiler about three seasons ago, but still think it could be anybody at this point. Recent episodes include a side-boob but I reckon A is male.

Girls Season 5 – Hannah is still as kooky as ever, Sosh is still Sosh, loving Jessa atm, and Marnie is still annoying as fuck.

New Girl Season 4 – I disliked the first two episodes of New Girl, but something about it drew me back in (meh, everybody’s got something weird about them. Jess just has more weirdness, but often I find it relevant).

E.R. Season 1 – Just another 4,231,346,001 episodes to go. Might finish it by the time I’m retired.

i love tv!

Films

The Revenant which I probably watched back in February now but, anyway LEO GOT A BLOODY OSCAR FOR IT GO ON SON.

leo oscar.gif

The Boy. “Gret-a, come play with me Gret-a. I promise I’ll be good.” DIE DIE YOU EVIL FUCKING DOLL [spolier, it dies].

the boy!

Batman Vs Superman: Dawn of Justice adding the little title on there, Dawn of Justice since critics shot it down in flames saying there’s was too much mention of “the justice league” that’s. the. fucking. point.
Sin City – Prepping for a binge, second one on the go.

Stuff I’ve added to Netflix this month

Jessica Jones because Daredevil
I’m also looking forward to Game of Thrones in April, and Orange is the New Black (I know, June is a looooong way off! So is August (come on Suicide Squad!!))

Games I’ve played this month…
The Sims 3 – whereby my old mother sim froze to death getting stuck putting out a house fire and her mother almost died too because she was stuck panicking about said fire. Granny lived to 120 sim days, then croaked it before the teenage twins were meant to become adults.
Resident Evil 6 – For the second/third time, playing each character. I fucking hate Piers. Seriously, go play it and have him be your partner. He’s really shit.

Most embarrassing moment in March:
An interview with a client:

ME: How are you?
CLIENT: I’m very well.
ME: I’m good thanks…

new girl awkward.gif

Revelations…
I’m actually good at being a person. Like someone who can go to work everyday apart from saturdays and sundays, someone who can talk to people without choking on their own huge tongue, someone who can get shit done and not turn into shit doing it. Yeah, it’s not easy, but I can do it.

Also, it’s been eleven fucking years since I left high school. I have now spent double the amount of time after highschool than I was in it. OLD. AS. SHIT. MAN.

Luna

Ignite the firy flames of decent conversation