April Showers (me with too much stuff to do)

Since it’s near enough the middle of May I think its two weeks’ out of date to do a monthly review, but CHRIST ON A JESUS BIKE did I buy so many books last month!

My (relatively) new job has kept me away from my own desk of late. Sometimes it’s nice to catch up on posts. Other times…chocolate, a cup of tea, and of course a good book are the keys to procrastination.

Reading…

I set myself a 22-book reading goal for 2016. So far I’ve read 15! I read quite a few graphic novels last month though, which is only sort of cheating.

Preacher Volume 3: Proud Americans by Steve Dillion and Garth Ennis
Fight Club 2: Issues 1 & 2 Chuck Palahniuk
I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai (Read the review here!)
Locke & Key Volume 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill
The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota (review coming soon!)

Books I’ve bought this month…

Seriously, it’s an issue.

Amazon.co.uk

  • The Children of Men by P.D. James
  • Dune by Frank Herbert (currently reading!)
  • The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
  • Daemon by Daniel Suarez
  • 30 Days of Night by Steve Niles
  • Southern Bastards Volume 1: Here Was A Man by Jason Aaron
  • Fight Club 2 Volumes 2 & 3

FREE through Bookbub.com

  • Fear the Dead: A Zombie Apocalypse Series by Jack Lewis
  • The Worthing Chronicle by Orson Scott Card
  • A Cry of Honor by Morgan Rice
  • Devil’s Nightmare by Robert Pruneda

I’ve also pre-ordered The Familiar Volume 3 by Mark Z. Danielewski (House of Leaves is a definite recommended read!).

 Lots of sci-fi and graphic novels last month, plus a few free books which are hit and miss if you’re lucky!
boooks!.gif

That we do, Lisa. That we do.

 

Watching…
TV

Angel Season 5 – was Buffy really amazing back then? Who knows. She sure as shit is forgettable now though. Angel in S5 is an all-out douche.

Making a Murderer – Lot of people seem to rave about this show, so I thought why not? I thought it’s be one of those documentaries where you still weren’t quite sure if the guy was guilty or not…nope. He’s totes innocent. And the sheriffs are twats.

New Girl Season 5 – So many feels!

True Blood Season 5 – again.

Britain’s Got Talent – Do we? Do we really? Some of the amazing child singers I swear they’re just little people who use a good age-defying cream.

Game of Thrones Season 6 – we’re two episodes in and already the “WHAT THE HELL!” stuff has started. Youth necklaces and bastard sons. Who knew?

Films
Captain America: The First Avenger; Winter Soldier; Civil War.
Okay, so I didn’t plan to watch all the CA films in one month, it just worked out like that. Dan also said after we watched Civil War that Fantastic 4 were involved in the comics, so wouldn’t it be cool if they brought the cast in from that?
Well, that’s an issue, since Chris Evans also played the Human Torch so…
chris evans.gif

“I mean, why can’t you have two of me?”

Most embarrassing moment in April:

My outdoor-now-indoor cat doesn’t want to stay inside, but due to traffic and a billion other cats, that ain’t gonna happen.

So I walked my fucking cat. On a leash. He has a little skull-and-crossbones harness with a little grey hoodie and all the other cats were jealous AF.

Revelations…

Don’t train for a 10k like you’re going to do The Flash and whiz round the thing. Now nursing injured cartilage and ligaments like a 90-year-old.

Luna

Ignite the firy flames of decent conversation

