The Normal

Daily prompt 29: Is being “normal” — whatever that means to you — a good thing, or a bad thing? Neither?

Let’s get one thing straight – what the fuck is “normal?”

Normal in the dictionary is “conforming to a standard; usual, typical, or expected.”

In that case, eating food is normal. Sleeping is normal. Drinking is normal. Breathing is normal.

Strip it down to its basic meaning, and normal is expected. Describing a person’s traits, habits and hobbies as “normal” is extremely and fundamentally flawed. We describe someone or something as “not normal” when what they do and say is out of the ordinary.

Yet when a scientist or inventor does something out of the ordinary, we call it ingenuity. We call it “inspired.” Others look to them, they want to be like them, to create the things they create. When enough people think it’s ingenious, then it becomes “normal.”

Normal is conformity. Normal is an Apple product. Normal is bowing your head when you walk past somebody on the street. Normal is working 9-5, Monday to Friday and drinking all weekend. Normal is pop music and indie bands. Normal is black-rimmed glasses and skinny jeans, maybe some Doc Martens on your feet. Normal is the emo kids you see around town. Normal is the students wearing beanies in summer. Normal is metalheads with piercings and tattoos. Normal is black kids liking rap. Normal is kids who talk back.

Normal is expected. When you give people what they expect of you, you are giving them normality.

In many ways, I am abnormal. I don’t like using phones everyone else has got. I look straight ahead when I walk past others. I work 9-5, but I don’t drink all weekend. I don’t like pop or indie. I’m not an emo. I’m not a metalhead. I wear beanies, but I’m not a student.

Normal is expected, but normal is not always a bad thing. It allows you to blend in to the crowd when you need to, and if you fight against it, you step out and shine when you want to.

Abnormality is not wrong, it’s different. And difference is what makes us who we are.

Luna

<embracetheabnormal>

2 thoughts on “The Normal

  1. very cool post 🙂 I love finding people who talk about the importance of differences and abnormality. I actually just published a piece on this fight to nix “normal”… feel free to check it out!

    • Thanks! Your post said it all really – and I love quirkiness, but dislike people who say/act “quirky” to get attention or to fit in as I think they’re just kidding themselves! Normal kids in…quirky clothing? 😉

Ignite the firy flames of decent conversation

