You Can Eat Your Way to Beautiful!

Daily Prompt 15: What was your favourite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

I rarely remember books I read as a child that stuck with me, or that were my “favourite.” I’m sure my mother will have a few ideas about which books I wanted to read every night (probably something with animals in. I vaguely remember a story about a mouse wanting to marry a talking Sun and clouds or something?)

Anyway, there’s Roald Dahl, Jacqueline Wilson and Enid Blyton that I know of where I read quite a few books of theirs. But my favourite? I honestly can’t remember. We constantly receive new information as kids, that it can be hard to pick any “favourite” medium. Favourite teddy, doll, toy? Sure. Favourite book or film and I’m stumped.

I would probably say my favourite book as a child, if I could call it that, would have been “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle. We saw it at the end of our trip to Tropical World, and I immediately went “ooo, I used to love this book!”

I don’t know why though. It’s essentially about a caterpillar that’s just hatched and it eats its way through things like apples and pears and watermelon, getting bigger and bigger until it turns into a beautiful butterfly.

Well, that’s just silly. That just teaches kids that as long as you keep eating and eating, you’ll turn into a beautiful person.

Perhaps this book was the start of the obesity epidemic?

Luna

<HungryNotUgly>

Ignite the firy flames of decent conversation

