It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To

Today is my birfday! And like I have seen myself on other blogs, and since I’m a quarter of 100 and half way to 50 (eesh, when it’s put like that…) I thought I’d do the post “25 things I’ve learned” for turning 25. I had a lot of things I wanted to put, but most of them were things I know I should do, but haven’t done them yet, so these are just some things I’ve learned so far. Learn or leave, ‘sup to you! (and leave a comment if you want me to explain something, that’s fine also).

1. Don’t regret mistakes. Learn from them, then move on.

2. Be mindful in the present, the future will come soon enough.

3. Take a breath, then react. But never with too much emotion.

4. Accept that people won’t always value your opinion. Accept that this is okay, but changing or filtering yourself for others is not.

5. Disagreement does not always equal disapproval.

6. You can find commonality even where values and opinions differ.

7. Give because you want to, not because you want something in return.

8. Rely on your gut feeling. If something feels wrong, it probably is.

9. A little nervousness before doing something important is good. Use it.

10. Don’t think too much about what could have been. What seems the wrong choice now was once the right choice.

11. People care less about your everyday life than you think.

12. Materialism is a disease. Recognise caring, love, and relationships as something other than just gifts and money.

13. About money. If you can’t get by without a lot of it, make your life have meaning.

14. The three hardest things to say: I’m sorry; I was wrong; help me. Don’t be afraid to use them, and be accepting of others when they say these too.

15. Nurture what you have, instead of wishing for what you cannot get.

16. Giving someone a second chance is hard, but always remember why they messed up in the first place. Are they worth it?

17. Time really does heal all wounds. Learn, grow, achieve, in what time is given to you after a difficult situation in your life.

18. Walking away is nearly always the best choice.

19. Adults are not always right, or wise.

20. You are part of a society which roots itself in traditional values. It’s okay if you don’t fit into these values.

21. Treat others as they deserve to be treated, not how you want to be treated.

22. Never underestimate stupid, ignorant or naïve people. These people are more likely to go to places of authority (like the police) when things go wrong.

23. Speak out sooner, rather than later.

24. Pain is present and raw but never forever. Focus on what is good and how goodness can be achieved.

25. The things you do and the things you say matters to someone. Speak kindly to these people and appreciate what you have, no matter how small or insignificant to others this may seem.

There are other things I’ve learned in my 25 years, and I’ve learned more about myself, my indentity and my immediate surroundings in these past few years than I have at any other time. Sometimes you learn a lot quickly, and sometimes this can be overwhelming.

The one thing I want to leave on is this: it’s really okay to make mistakes and it’s really okay to be who you want to be, even if others do not like it.

You have one life, and you are living it. Never live your life through others. Never let others dictate who you should be.
You’re doing perfectly fine without them.

Lunix

<25@25>

Ignite the firy flames of decent conversation

